Outlaw Bristol

Outlaw Events came to Bristol this weekend with a wonderful craft fair, one that I can’t wait for it to be repeated very soon. There was so much to do in a light and airy space filled with live music and over 70 artisan craft and food stalls.

Emporium of Illumination

Stephanie Duckett Ceramics

Little Birdy

There was a constant schedule of demos and workshops to attend. There were lots of big names doing free demos such as Gift Wrapping with Amanda of Gift Frippery and How to make a terrarium with Sarah of Sarah Hill Flowers; make and take theatre with Arty Crafty Place and Paper Gardens. As well as a huge variety of workshops which had to be booked in advance including Printmaking with The Art Troupe, bespoke lampshade making with Millie Moon and The Art of Hand Sewing with Flo-Jo Boutique.

Sarah Hill Flowers

I went along on Saturday and attended two workshops, Bookbinding with Tim of Camel Winter and Annie Sloan painting with Victoria of 19. Tim was really friendly, gave us lots of tips of the trade as well as making us feel better by telling us some of the errors he made whilst starting out. We made two booklets using the basic pamphlet stitch and adding extra sections. I know what I’ll be making more of for gifts this year!

Bookbinding Workshop

During the Annie Sloan taster workshop I realised how bad I am at painting. I always knew I wasn’t any good but this confirmed it. I lack self-confidence and it just makes me really nervous. Sewing I can unpick, yarn I can unravel, but paint, paint I can’t do anything with….or so I thought. Annie Sloan chalk paint is quite forgiving, yes I made mistakes and I really wasn’t happy with the outcome, especially compared to everyone else. However after talking to Victoria she gave me the confidence to just give it a go and if I don’t like it I can just sand it down and start again, simple. Although I have yet to give it another go I certainly won’t be quite so scared of it when I do try again.

19 Workshop

Annie Sloan workshop

I instagrammed (is that a word?) the some of the day using #OutlawBristol and was lucky enough to win their mini competition! I have won a selection of pastel embroidery threads from Linladan Embroidery, they are made from 100% flax linen yarn and perfect for any needlework project. I can’t wait to receive them and start making things with them.

Have you been to any of Outlaws events? I will certainly be travelling to Cornwall to attend some more of their events this year, what is your favourite craft fair?

Leave a Reply

