Simple Advent Calendar

I can’t quite believe I managed to get my shizzle together this year and actually made an advent calendar. Ever since I’ve moved out of home and had to buy my own (not at all envious of those at work who’s mothers send them advent calendars through the post, not one bit!!), I’ve wanted to make my own; I’ve had lots of grand ideas seeing everyone else’s on instagram but have always left it too late and ended up buying one. Although you might remember from last year, we’ve recently had Lego advent calendars so I certainly wasn’t missing out of the joy of opening a new window everyday but did miss it being ok to eat chocolate at 8 in the morning.

The advent calendar I made this year took less than half an hour, albeit about an hour in total as it took me forever to get the push pins in the wall (don’t tell the landlord, #sorrynotsorry). I didn’t need to buy anything to complete it, I had everything at home already which made it even better as apart from the chocolate coins I didn’t have to spend a penny.

Simple Advent Calendar

IMG_1646

IMG_1645

I used small brown paper money envelopes from Wilkinsons, you know the sort you could keep your school lunch money in; Dovecraft back to basics Christmas 6×6 paper; Fiskars extra large paper squeeze punch; Staedtler triplus colour pens; bakers twine from TK Maxx; Paperchase mini pegs (not sold online, from Ritz Glitz range). To decorate I used a mixture of star, snowflake and christmas tree punches, a selection of rubber stamps including Papermania, Tonic embellishment stapler and not forgetting gold chocolate coins and a few surprise gifts too.

Craft items to make advent calendar

Paper punches

2 1/2 inch paper circles

Rubber Stamps

Rubber Stamps

IMG_1640

Tonic Embellishment Stapler

It was so quick and simple I will definitely be replicating it next year. Is 28 years old too old to still have/want an advent calendar? Do you still have one and if so have you made your own this year?

One response to “Simple Advent Calendar

Leave a Reply

