My first Sorbetto Top

I’m so frigging excited about this, I’ve finally finished my first Sorbetto Top. Sure I’ve sewn things in the past, but not for a while and after reading Karen’s post from Did You Make That? about the new Liberty fabric with Isle of Wight print I knew I had to make something with it.

Continuing with Coletterie suggested list for beginner sewists, I printed, cut out and stuck together my first PDF pattern, the well known Sorbetto Top. As I picked such expensive fabric for my first make I knew I had to make a muslin and I’m so glad I did as ended up making two of them! I started with a size 4 but ended up needing a size 0 (I have large hips and a tiny bust, sizing it always difficult for me), as I have no idea how to alter patterns yet I stuck with the standard pattern.

Uneven seams

Tailors Tack

The pattern itself is pretty straight forward, once it’s cut you just need to sew the shoulders and the sides and you’re pretty much done. I had a few issues once I cut the fabric as the seams on the arms holes didn’t match up, although it turned out fine so I’m assuming they don’t usually match, is this right?? Then I had the conundrum of how to get the dart lines on the fabric. My Mum showed me this amazing thing to help, a tailors tack, genius!

Almost finished Sorbetto

The final step is the bias binding, with Liberty fabric I didn’t want any old bias binding, so had the genius idea of skipping one of the suggestions from Coletterie’s list and make my own. I was slightly apprehensive to start with and honestly put it off until I was fed up of seeing a half made top on my sewing machine.

Making the actual bias binding wasn’t too difficult, the folding in half to make it half an inch was the tricky bit. I initially bought the wrong size bias binder maker thing which is what made it all the more tricky, once I got hold of the right size (12mm) it wasn’t too bad. I pinned the end of the bias binding to my (tiny) ironing board and pressed the binding, pinning as I went and voila.

Bias Binding

Luckily the pattern instructions are very simple to follow and I managed to attached the binding without too much trouble, just a bit of perseverance and lots of pinning and it was fine.

Sorbetto Top finished :)

The final garment? OMG I was so proud of myself at that moment it was ridiculous, I’m already searching the internet for more fabric ready for the Laurel Tunic.

Things I’ve learnt from my first Sorbetto Top:

  • Muslins are a must
  • I’m not great at sewing in a straight line
  • Cut threads as I go along not at that very end
  • I have to improve my lighting when taking photos

This top is also the first of my #28makes, I’m making 28 things while I’m 28, 28 things that I haven’t made before, things that will push myself and develop my skills. The 28 things could be made of any medium, paper, fabric, paint, I’m happy to take suggestions (I don’t have the greatest imagination).

6 responses to “My first Sorbetto Top

  1. It looks fantastic, well done! Looking forward to the next project, I’m sure it will be just as good if not better! Very impressed with your fabric.

  2. With the armhole edges etc you need to match the sewing line rather than the cut edge and bear in mind that bits will fold back different ways. The best way to see it is to play around with your cut fabric, holding it together where you’d sew it and folding the edges back. Not that I’m any expert – I’m figuring out these things too :)
    If you’re in/near Bristol then Fabricland on Bond St is good for cheap fabric that you can mangle without ruining something lovely. Flo-Jo on Gloucester Road have Liberty and other lovely more expensive fabrics.

    • Hi Sarah,

      Thank you so much for the tip, really useful.
      I’ve been to Fabricland but have never found any fabric I’d want to make anything out of, but I guess that’s part of the point with cheaper fabric, like you said, so I can just play around with it. I’ll definitely check out Flo-Jo when I can :)

Leave a Reply

